Litter Kwitter – Broken…

December 27, 2009 at 12:22 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

Since last I posted, when we got back that night from a Christmas dinner, we came home to one of Phobos’ special piles tucked away by our washing machines. Yesterday (Dec. 25) we had yet another dinner to go to, but fortunately we got home sooner that night so Phobos hadn’t gone yet. I noticed him later in the evening meowing in the bathroom, the way he does when he really wants something (he hardly ever meows). So I knew he had to poop, as he had probably been holding it in… I tried to show him to the Litter Kwitter, which is still on the floor with the Red stage, but he just turned away from it right away. He went around the house scratching at things, and I knew he really wanted to go but didn’t feel comfortable going because there wasn’t any appropriate places around for him other than the LK. I figure he only goes on the floor as a last resort, though I can’t understand why he doesn’t resort to the LK! So Ian and I finally caved and took out the ol’ Kitty litter box. We put in their old non-flushable kitty litter, Jonny Cat. I’m not sure why we chose to do that, I guess at the time I reasoned that we shouldn’t waste the flushable litter on the box? Anyways, as soon as we had set that box up with litter, Phobos jumped in right away and did his business. I didn’t want to go back to the box, but it seemed like there was no way to coax Phobos into pooping in the Litter Kwitter, and we were getting very tired of cleaning up his crap off the floor. He would pee in there fine, but pooping… I can’t even remember when was the last time I’d seen Phobos poop in the Litter Kwitter.
Though I think I might’ve narrowed it down to something… I remember that Phobos was reluctant to use the new flushable litter we introduced, so it is a possibility that the litter is the problem.

After this Jonny Cat litter that’s currently in the litter box has been used up, then I’ll try to switch it to the flushable litter to see if Phobos has an aversion to pooping in it. If he avoids pooping in it, even in the litter box, then we’ll know the litter is definitely the culprit. If Phobos does poop in it, then it’s possible we might have transitioned too quickly and he got confused about what the litter’s purpose was. Even though he had buried his brother’s poop plenty of times in the flushable litter, I guess he’s very stubborn when it comes to learning new things. I hope it’s the latter; I would hate to go hunting for a new brand of flushable litter and have to train both kitties to a new one.

Speaking of training, I had no doubt that Deimos would automatically default to the litter box once that was reintroduced, but I had not expected the toilet training to have really taken hold. It was only when I witnessed Deimos going to the litter box, that I saw him actually attempt to perch the edge of the box like he would on the Litter Kwitter as he went poopie! I was really amazed that he was doing that. Strangely enough he only did that when he was pooping, and not when he went to pee, though I suspect it would be very difficult for him to try to perch the edge of the box when in peeing position. I tried to grab a picture, but so far I’ve missed both times he has done it. I’ll post a picture if I manage to capture him in the act…

I have high hopes for training Deimos easily when we get both cats back on track with the LK. For now we will have to endure a bit of retraining the basics in a normal box.

Leave a Reply

